Family Child Care Start-up Grant Program Overview

Updated 6/12/2023

About the Family Child Care Start-up Grant

Many families choose licensed Family Child Care programs because of their home-like environment and their commitment to child care safety through their compliance with child care licensing requirements. These small businesses are crucial for delivering child care in Rhode Island.

Rhode Island Department of Human Services (DHS) received \$200,000 dollars in funds through the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) State Fiscal Recovery Fund (SFRF), as appropriated by Governor Dan McKee and the General Assembly. This program is intended to support newly licensed FCC providers in establishing their businesses, obtaining licensure, and enrolling families by offering \$2,000 one-time start-up grants to support with the following allowable costs:

- Quality improvement items
- Fire-related repairs and/or health and safety items (fire extinguisher, plug covers, etc.)
- Lead and radon inspections
- Liability insurance

Application Timeline and Eligibility

The application window will be open from **October 3, 2022 to December 15, 2023.** This program is first-come, first-served, so we encourage interested applicants to apply as soon as possible.

Eligible applicants **must** meet the following criteria:

- Be interested in becoming a licensed Family Child Care provider with DHS
- Be able to meet all health and safety requirements necessary to receive and retain licensure
- Complete the online orientation webinar. You can find the link here: <u>DHS Licensing</u>
 <u>Orientation for Family Child Care Home Providers (English) Center for Early Learning</u>
 <u>Professionals (center-elp.org)</u>
- Submit the pre-licensure information to the Department of Human Services. You can find this here: https://center-elp.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/09/Orientation-One-Pager-Criteria English.pdf
- Commit to participating in BrightStars, RI's Tiered Quality Rating System, and maintaining a rating of at least a Level 2

You may be eligible for this grant if you are a recently licensed Family Child Care provider, licensed a maximum 30 days prior to submitting this grant application

Previously licensed Family Child Care providers (that is, provider who are not currently licensed but have been licensed in the past) may also be eligible for this grant as they reopen their program, given their previous license was in good-standing at DHS.

For questions related to eligibility, please contact childcaregrants@pcgus.com

Application Process

To be eligible for this grant, you are either a recently DHS-licensed Family Child Care provider, (licensed a maximum 30 days prior to submitting this grant application) or you are in the process of becoming a DHS-licensed Family Child Care provider. To become a licensed Family Child Care provider, you should follow the instructions outlined by the Center for Early Learning Professionals: DHS Licensing Orientation for Family Child Care Home Providers (English) - Center for Early Learning Professionals (center-elp.org)

If you have any questions regarding this process, please email the Child Care Licensing Unit at DHS.ChildCareLicensing@dhs.ri.gov

The grant application link will be posted on http://kids.ri.gov/cabinet/funding-opportunities/

DHS anticipates disbursing funds within 30 business days of receiving a completed application.

In the grant application, applicants will elect to receive funds either by direct deposit or by mailed check. Electing to receive funds by check may delay payment up to an additional 30 business days due to processing and mail delivery.

Additional Resources

We want this application process to be straightforward and are here to answer your questions! There are several ways to access assistance, in English and Spanish, during the application process.

- View online resources and webinars at http://kids.ri.gov/cabinet/funding-opportunities/
- Contact us! Reach out to our team at: ChildCareGrants@pcgus.com or 833-930-3540 for assistance in English or Spanish.